History of Trophies

1938-1939     Jack Sparrow Memorial Shield 


           Players paid a fee for each game played

           3 games per night 2 divisions “Vimy” & “Dieppe” Over 14 teams played with no    handicaps.

           Players were ranked A,B,C,D and visiting teams matched A vs A, B vs B, C vs C and D vs D 

1954–1955    Neil Bardal Trophy

            -35 and up, 2 games to 200 

Handicaps implemented with


10 points Win or Loss

  5 points in the 60’s

            Lowest handicap +40

           +20 points start (Rookie) 

1969–1970    Jack McLean Trophy

           +40 to -30 (Grosvenor Trophy)

                        John (Jock) Milton Trophy

            John (Jock) Milton Trophy for 3rd Place in league after playoffs

1970–1971    Harry Lockwood Trophy (Life Member)

            Top 16 players in the league ranked race to 500 points – no handicap 

1971–1972    Syd Spence Trophy (Life Member)            

            +40 to -30 High Break

                         Tom Hargreaves (Life Member)       

            Tom Hargreaves Trophy (Life Member) for -35 and up High Break  


            2 Division format dropped 14 teams

            Lowest handicap changed from +40 to +30 



2 Division format reinstated this year only 16 teams 


1978–1979    St Georges Trophy 


            4th Place in league after playoffs


1980–1981    Jim Simm Trophy (Life Member)


Aggregate for 1st Place in regular season play                                   


            4 games a night, 2 tables all venues 


            Add 30 points to all handicaps and players start at -10 


            $2.00 a game dropped. Yearly team fees adopted 

1988–1989    Ward Tullock Trophy


Most Sportsmanlike 


Subtract 30 points from all handicaps

Lowest +30, start at +20


1990–1991    Novice Trophy


open to all 1st year players 

1991–1992    Ken Vincent Trophy

            Most Feared 

2006–2007    Ray Trinder Trophy (Life Member)

           +30 to “0” (Replaces Novice Trophy)

2007–2008    Harry Lockwood Trophy


Changed to race to 700 points from 500




Changed Billiard balls to White, Yellow & Red from White, White w/spot & Red


                               Chuck Werner Trophy


MVP of the playoffs 


2009–2010    Harry Lockwood Trophy


Back to race to 500 points from 700


2013               WVEBL welcomes the World


            Hosts Americas’ Cup & Vimy Ridge Open World tournament at the Manitoba Club.


            Mike Russell inaugural winner Americas’ Cup Trophy  August 25-29, 2013

            Robert Hall inaugural winner Vimy Ridge Trophy          August 23-24, 2013




          Changed to Aramith Tournament balls

          Changed lowest handicap from +30 to +50


2014-2015     WVEBL welcomes the World for 2nd bi-annual


          Hosts Americas’ Cup & Vimy Ridge Open World tournament at Anavets Assiniboia Unit #283.


          Mike Russell winner Americas’ Cup Trophy        May 24-29, 2015

          Robert Hall winner Vimy Ridge Trophy                May 22-23, 2015


          Kevin Augusta first Canadian player ever to have a Century break in an International tournament.




          Changed double baulk rule from a miss to foul.